faith.family.fall.fun.

Every I post things ideas for Harvest time {alternative to Halloween, go here for more info}. Everyone has their own convictions about Halloween, and we do not participate in Halloween. But we do alternate fun things to do on that night. Like I said everyone has their own convictions about Halloween. I can’t judge you for yours and you can’t judge me for my own convictions. It’s the choice we make and pray about, but we make it fun none the less. We are not depriving them of anything, except for the facts about Halloween.

Every year we participate in a Harvest Festival on that night, quite honestly we have more fun doing that than if we were to go  trick or treating. And you don’t have to inspect all your candy because you know the source of where it’s coming from. It’s just an all around safe and fun alternative. Our church holds an Annual Harvest Fest with: games, pony rides, ferris wheels, fun booths {face painting, crafts and more}. It’s almost live a carnival. It’s been a blessing these past couple of years because my daughter has sang at these events. It just blesses my heart to see her up there praising the Lord. At each of the game booths you get a handful of candy. My girls have gotten more candy here then if we were to go trick or treating. So for me it’s  a win win. . We already discussed with them why we don’t celebrate Halloween. I give my girls the choice to dress up or not, again our own convictions. I choose to make it fun and let them dress up, and it’s never anything scary or that has died. Again our own convictions.

Harvest Fest 2012 My lil' punkin as Rainbow Dash

Harvest Fest 2012
My lil’ punkin as Rainbow Dash

Harvest 2012 - Me & My Hero

Harvest 2012 – Me & My Hero

Harvest Fest 2012 - My lil' one on the ferris whell

Harvest Fest 2012 – My lil’ one on the ferris whell

Here’s my daughter singing at the Harvest Fest….she is the girl singing with the neon yellow sweater. This is her first time doing this. Her voice has grown since then. I will be posting this years in November so come back for that.

We also love to host a Harvest gathering at our home. We do a pumpkin devotional every year,  go here for the info, and we  just have fun, food and fellowship.

Cross Pumpkin 2012 - this is what our pumpkin looked like after our devotional

Cross Pumpkin 2012 – this is what our pumpkin looked like after our devotional

Harvest Gathering 2012 Carving time!!

Harvest Gathering 2012
Carving time!!

Harvest Gathering 2012 - Let's see how much gunk this pumpkin has?

Harvest Gathering 2012 – Let’s see how much gunk this pumpkin has?

Harvest Gathering 2012

Harvest Gathering 2012 – Me & one of my BFF’s

What things do you do for this time of year? I would love to hear.

Leave a Comment

